Thread: A question for writers

Default A question for writers

So over several years in my english classes i have been asked to find the hidden meaning in quotes. Like if it says "He pulled the red sweater over his head" I read that literally and get yelled at for it. Somehow that red sweater represents anger or something when in the story the protagonist actually seemed very happy. Some hidden meanings i do understand where readers and writers get that but clue at all. I guess my question for you writers out there is: Do you write literally or do you actually put hidden meaning in certain things?

I personally write literally. Just so you have my qualifications I am an educated writer. I have my BA in journalism and communications. Most of what I write isn't fiction aside from some short stories.
    What I have found, which can often make me crazy is people try to over analyze and read into everything. I think a lot of times it's to feel smart or prove their intelligence. Sometimes a red sweater, is just a red sweater. Sometimes it's more. A lot depends on the specific work or author.

Quote Originally Posted by Foxracer529 View Post
    . I guess my question for you writers out there is: Do you write literally or do you actually put hidden meaning in certain things?
    Literally for the most part. Like Wheelman said, I would run into alot of situations where people would try to analyze something I read. Mostly backyard psychologists who were trying to add meaning where there was none. Without the context of the line you gave for example, I would have no way of knowing what the author was trying to say.