Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Is it that students can make an impact?

Default Is it that students can make an impact?

I bring this topic to yours as it may seem to some controversy.

I am a student in college. Some time ago the our government made ​​a decision to implement an increase in tuition fees at the University. I live in Quebec (Canada), here the system is mainly done to give a strong redistribution of wealth (taxes).

The announcement create alot of debate and rebellion. Over 60% of students would be unable to continue their studies. Also, this will create a big impact on the middle class who already barely making ends meet.

For more than three months, several student unions are launching protests, including a strike by about 250,000 students. Irroniquement, the government refuses to listen to them that this must indicants Implement this increase in prétexe it will fund the universities, knowing that some Rectors wages are reaching the quarter-milion.

Thus, I would like to know your position on the importance that students can have on a state decisons. Should we be listening?

On the one hand, I can see the point of not raising tuition fees, but on the other, I'm paying over triple what some people are there, so I don't really buy the argument that 60% would not be able to continue their studies.

I really haven't been paying that close attention to it.

Maybe but maybe not. We recently saw in increase in fees from £3500 to £9000 for students who start this September which was even worse after one of the parties explicitly said they would not do this and so got a large proportion of the student vote. We held a large protest or two and while it gathered attention it was because some idiots took it as an opportunity to riot which ruined what we were trying to get across. Chances are that it won't make a difference but it will certainly show a message to the government that people really do give a shit about this sort of thing.