Thread: The City Makes Me An Idiot!

Default The City Makes Me An Idiot!

So I was in the city today, going to see The Lion King on my drama club's big trip. Being a New Yorker, it's not like this is my first time ever being in the city; I've gone plenty of times before. I take pride in my understanding of how things work in the world, especially in NYC, and one basic fact is to (most of the time, anyway) ignore the vendors on the side of the street giving away "free" stuff" (CDs, tickets, memorabilia, etc.). I also know that, as a minor, I should never give my name away to any random person I see.

Today, however, I realized something. I turn into a friggin' idiot when I'm in the city! Maybe it's the rush of everything around me or my mind's inability to focus on one thing when there are so many amazing things around me, but today my mind just totally went blank! I was walking down the street, in the back of the group, and we pass by a guy giving away a CD. Unfortunately, for some reason, I stopped when the guy held out his CD to me. I don't even like the music on this guy's CD, but my hand just moved on it's own and took it! It's like my mind just didn't want to walk away! Then I start to walk away with the "free" CD, when suddenly, the guy stops me again and says he'll give me his autograph. Like hell I want this guy's signature on a CD I don't even want, but when he asks me for my name, instead of just stepping off and leaving, I flat out say it! Yes, I know it's really not a big deal, but I felt like years of those friggin' "stranger danger" talks with my parents just went down the crapper.