Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: soldiers in afghanistan

babybenjamin

Default soldiers in afghanistan

as a trained paratrooper in the british army and i have just received my start date for afghanistan i was wondering will i make an impact there good or bad

That depends entirely upon you! And the purpose of your being in Afghanistan.

Of course, you have to understand that the Afghan people are not exactly thrilled with the British (and US) being in their country for the past 11 years. They did not provoke the attack on their country, and they are justifiably angry.

That said, the Canadian military is also in Afghanistan, and are not hated like the US & Brits. Then again the Canucks are there as teachers, liaisons, builders, etc. In other words, as support, not just for the allies, but for the Afghan people as well.

I've read as much coverage from Afghanistan as anyone, but I'm not an expert in any relevant field, and I don't know any of the local languages, so...
    but from what I've seen the NATO/ISAF mission in Afghanistan has done much more good than harm; but at the same time obviously the Taliban haven't been decisively defeated, and it's a country that's had wars of one kind or another for the past 30 years, it's starting from a low base and the development progress is slow...

As a soldier, you can only do your own job as well as you can, and hope that you're serving Generals and Politicians who have made good strategy and policy - I don't think anyone really be able to say for sure about that for another ten years - that is, until we've been out of there for a good few years.
    At the moment the debate you hear in the news:
    "we should get out now"
    vs.
    "we're doing it all wrong, if only we were doing it x way"
    vs.
    "stay the course, we'll come out OK"
    seems to be driven as much by prejudices, as by events.

I hope you'll do some good, and I hope you come back OK. Good luck Benjamin.

youngbear9