Thread: Your Dreams/Aspirations?

Default Your Dreams/Aspirations?

This is a question that has been bothering me lately. Just thinking over everything in my life, the "Where do I want to go" and "Who do I want to be" questions continue to be posed upon me by my self. I am in university right now working towards a double major in Finance and International Studies, with a double minor in Economics and Chinese. The career path that I want to to is a career in Private Equity/Venture Capital. That industry is enormously competitive, but can be very rewarding. It is also something that I really have an interest in. By looking at what I am studying, I am very interested in the world around me, especially in China and the Chinese language. Ideally, I would love a Private Equity career with a firm that does business in China.

However, this is where my problem (for lack of a better word) comes in. There is an internship opportunity at a newly formed Private Equity firm in the city my uni is in. Myself and 5 other Entrepreneurs at the Business club I am a part of are the only ones in the city who know of this opportunity (since the firm gave us first bid, so to say). Just listening to the people who have been interviewed thus far and looking at their past accomplishments compared to mine just makes me think more and more that I don't stand a chance in hell.

I feel that I have good experience that might get me the job:

Starting 4 companies in my life time
    Living in China and teaching English there
    Being a part of student government
    Having 4 years of sales experience
    Being bi lingual (Mandarin Chinese and English)

However, despite these qualities, I feel like I will just be slaughtered in the interview.