Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A little help :)

Default A little help :)

So i'm getting ready to start walking/running/working out because i'm fat, tired and embarrassed to go out in public looking the way i do. The problem is i'm not a very motivated person and self pity isn't enough to keep me going.

So here's what i'm thinking, I've gotten my alarm setup for the morning now, and i'm wondering is it a good idea or healthy to roll straight out of bed and hit the treadmill for a 3mile/1hr walk (starting light) before having any sort of breakfast? just get up, grab a water and start walking/running?

In the past I've tried to put my walk/run about mid day, after I've had my coffee, breakfast, sports center. But like i said, i'm unmotivated and would lose interest once my ass formed tot he couch and i started playing my games If anyone has any thoughts on this, or reasons why this is a good idea or bad idea it would be very very much appreciated.

You could set a goal, like a certain distance to run in the year.

That's how my dad does it; he set a goal of 600 miles for 2011, we said he was insane, but he did it. He says it keeps him motivated if he has something to work towards, it gives him a way to do better than he did the last time, to beat himself.

I hear first thing in the morning is always a good way to do it, although I've never really done it myself as I am not much of a morning person. You should probably eat a fruit or something about 20 minutes before though so you get some carbs in your system and you won't have that empty feeling in your stomach.

As for motivation, Nike says it best: just do it. There is no way around it if you don't have the motivation but if you just get up and do it, you will feel the reward afterwards. You just keep at it and don't give up and the results will become your motivation.