Thread: Mountain biking

Default Mountain biking

Ok, so I was thinking about starting down hill and other mountain biking rides, but I have no idea on what bike to get. (brand wise) I don't know if anyone has any tips on what to look for. I'm riding in a very rocky and hilly terrain. (that's Nevada for ya!)

Hmm... Sadly, I've been out of the MTB scene for five years now, so I can't say what a good rig for your riding would be. What sort of price point are you looking toward, though? That'll help some of the others hopefully find something that'll work for you.

Well not alot of help here cause I it the hookup on my bike but most people for down hill in fontucky CA are using all aluminum full suspension probly like 6 in travel in front but I'm not smart I run my hardtail with a cheap front shock fork locked out for both classes

Although I do have one, I'm far from an expert in the field of mountain bikes. I spent $500 on my bike. It is a 2009 Rincon made by Giant. The MSRP is still around $540. It is a nice solid mid-level mountain bike. I love the front and read disc brakes. I would recommend disc brakes for many reasons. The two main reasons for disc brakes is: 1) if you ride through water, the disc brakes are less likely to get wet. 2) If you're riding down hill at a high rate of speed a disc break will not build up as much heat because they are close to the hub and therefore not turning as fast. My bike also has heavier gauge stainless steel spokes (painted black) and double walled rims (also painted black) which translates to being able to successfully hold a heavier rider (I'm 260Lbs). It basically all boils down to what you want to use the bike for and how hard you want to ride it while doing your particular sport.
    Last edited by Cherub; 29-Nov-2011 at 20:31. Reason: grammer mistakes