Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deafness and Sign Language

Default Deafness and Sign Language

I would like to start by saying I am not Deaf, I am in my 3rd year of studying American Sign Language.

In my class we are reading a book called Of Sound Mind by: Jean Ferris and we ended up getting into a discussion, that was sparked by a scene in the book, about how Deaf people feeling isolated because there are not many people they can communicate with. There was an open discussion and several of my peers mentioned that the Deaf students in my school will flag one of the 3rd or 4th year students down in the hall because we have a common language and just chat and chat and chat.

I have always wondered about this, my teacher has 17 years of deaf culture and history under her belt and several of her friends are deaf, but she is still hearing. I would like an answer from someone Deaf, so I can better understand what is culturally acceptable.

1. How do you feel about hearing people wanting to learn about your culture?

2. I have had this happen once and I had no clue what to do. There was a couple having an intimate conversation when I was at a restaurant and their table was in my line of site. I caught my self eves dropping and ended up moving my chair so I wouldn't feel like a creeper. My teacher told me if it should happen again to let the signers know there was someone else in the room who could understand, and introduce myself.

How would you feel if you were approached and someone told you they could understand?

Personally, I would feel weird if a stranger came up to me, but I would rather know than someone knowing secrets they shouldn't because I thought no one would understand me.

3. Have you ever felt isolated? Or is your community nearby big enough you always had people to talk to?

Sorry for the wall of text, I would rather have the truth on how you guys feel rather than a teachers interpretation of how it would be when it comes to things like this.