Thread: Desktop Linux Advice

Default Desktop Linux Advice

Anyone have tips, or ideas, regarding getting some mileage out of a cheap Linux laptop?

I recently picked up just such a cheap, old laptop. It is several years old, and missing some parts (like a CD drive). Still, it runs, and I'm installing KUbuntu on it as I write this.

I don't think I can really use it as a gaming machine, but perhaps I can get some other usage out of it.
    Maybe a lightweight way to surf the web on the go?

I've been running Linux for quite a few years on the server side. Thing is, it has been a long time since I looked at a GUI for any Linux machine, and even longer since I tried using Linux on home computer. So, I'm pretty much booting up something new.

Suggestions, anyone?
    I'm looking for:
    • uses to which it can be put
    • cool linux-only apps I could try out before possibly running them on one of my more powerful computers in future

As far as apps I don't really know, as I haven't used it in awhile, but I used to use my old Linux machine as a media server to download movies and music to, and to stream to my laptop and desktop pc so I didn't have to waste my hard drive space on my main pc's. If you are good with networking, and setting up websites (which I guess you are ) then you can even stream your media over the internet, not just on the local connection. I am not completely sure how to set that up, as my step-dad did that part for me. As for streaming media, well that's pretty easy, and if you don't happen to know how to, just do a quick Google search and you'll find hundreds of walk throughs.

If Kubuntu isn't feeling comfortable on it (dunno how "old" we're talking) I'd recommending taking a look at Xubuntu. It's the same platform but the desktop manager is Xfce instead by KDE...though I guess you could get the same result by installing the xubuntu package from apt-get, or whatever tool they call it now.