Thread: Hola mis amigos que me asustan - Nerd/Musician from NJ

overclockedP4

Default Hola mis amigos que me asustan - Nerd/Musician from NJ

Hi I'm Greg. I'm 15 years old and I am a sophomore in high school. I do fairly well in school and take several honors courses as well as two AP courses; Music Theory and American History. I am fairly fluent at spanish and have been studying (productively) for 4 years now (Honors Spanish IV).

When I am not procrastinating at school, I spend my time as the musician/nerd of the family. I play a total of 7 instruments fluently (bassoon, alto sax, tenor sax, bari sax, flute, clarinet, trumpet) and I'm currently learning trombone. I also play lead tenor in my school's honors jazz band. I've been playing wind instruments since 8th grade when I started on alto sax, and my main instrument is baritone saxophone, with my inspiration and sound goal being Gerry Mulligan. I only play winds, because I feel they allow a player to feel like the instrument is an extension of them, although I have considered learning violin or cello just to see what it's like.

Outside of music, I am the town's biggest nerd, having built and repaired several computers, replacing dvd drive motherboards, reflowing bga chips, and flashing custom firmware (dd-wrt) on routers via a ttl cable. I also have a fair amount of knowledge involving electrical engineering.

I also have a few hobbies, including role-playing games such as Final Fantasy 7, Lost Odyssey, Assassin's Creed, Kingdom Hearts, and Zelda. I also love anime, especially mech anime like Gundam, Gurren Lagann, and Code Geass.

I am currently deciding between electrical engineering and something to do with music (education, instrument engineering) for my college major.

(p.s: If anyone is a computer nerd, join OCN. It's the best computer related forum I've ever seen.)

Hello, and welcome to adisc.

I see you are an OCN nerd. What's your user name on there? I'll shoot you a pm.

overclockedP4