Thread: Pool (Billiards): Who plays it?

Default Pool (Billiards): Who plays it?

Title asks it all. We have a pool table in the main hangout/study center at my college that I and a few other dudes play on. It was initially a pay-table, but guys kept rigging it in various ways for it to give the balls for free, so we get free games.

Usually after all my classes finish I shoot up a few games. Sometimes I'm decent, other days I'm terrible. Usually on the days that I'm good I practice using online billiards games, my favorite being the 8-ball Multiplayer on Miniclip (helps best with the cuts). Though I seem to suck especially at the long-shots.

So, who else plays pool frequently? Care to share some of your favorite shots, strategies, etc.?

Have played a fair amount of pool. Wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I like to think I'm ok.

And long shots are not easy.

Two components, the geometry and the shot itself. That is, knowing where you should be putting the ball.. and being able to actually do it.

The geometry bit I'd google "ghost ball" if you arn't already familiar.

For actually making the shot the usual general tips apply, try to keep the elbow, hand, and shoulder in line... line up the shot above the table, be as consistent as possible in your movement and stance.. and just practice until it's easy. Also don't agonize over the shot for too long .. when you think you've got it.. go for it.

If you are alone at the table (it happens), a good way to practice is to place the cueball on the line, and a ball (the object ball) about a foot in front of it. Try to have the object ball bank off the back, return, and knock the cueball back towards you. Bonus points if you can re-make the shot without re-queuing (doesn't happen very often for me.. ).