Thread: the job hunt....

Default the job hunt....

I recently graduated and received my B.S. from the college of technology with concentration in construction management. I have very little experience in my field mostly because to pay for school, I bartended which didn't allow for an internship. Though, during my college career; I worked 40 hrs a week and took 18 credit hrs of classes and maintained a 3.2 GPA. You would think that would help me out. Anyways, I have been full force looking for a job by searching entry-level positions. I have been applying in many states and finding call backs to be very minamil. I've been calling the companies to check up on the status of my resume and seems to get me no where. I'm currently living in my alma mater town and bartending while making awesome money. I have been bartending/serving for 8 years and I'm burnt out and desperately wanting to start my career. My brother, who is a rheumatologist in a big city about 2 hrs south of me, wants me to move down in September and start networking with contractors.

Any thoughts about getting my foot in the door? I'm willing to relocate for a couple of years to get experience then decide where I want to end up. I've had many people look over my resume and my cover letter so I feel that is pretty solid. Any hr out there willing to help me out with some tips?

Sorry not in construction, where I work we need engineers, toolmakers, machinists, diesetters and mechanics.