Thread: Hey out there... I am in a venting mood!!!

Default Hey out there... I am in a venting mood!!!

I am new to and after about a week of roaming around the forums I have found the site to be very useful! A little about myself... I suffer from Chronic prostatitis / chronic pelvic pain syndrome. If anyone here suffers from prostatitis they know that 3-6 months at a time, for no reason (which is the frustrating part), your prostate gets inflamed. For me this causes pain during "private time" with my wife, difficulty urinating and constant bladder infections during flare-up times.
    The pain during "private time" with my lovely wife is easy to handle and we were able to manage it with no trouble (My wife of 12 years is the most understanding loving woman I have ever met).
    The bladder infections, no problem, 10 days of antibiotics.... GONE.
    The difficulty urinating on the other hand is my bane. My doctor subscribed numerous muscle relaxers. Vicodin, Percocet, Klonopin, Valium, Zanaflex, Soma and so many others the first 6 months of my diagnosis that I can't remember the names to list them! They all tore my stomach apart, cramps all day long, headaches, you name it. Finally he tries 500mg of Flexeril twice a day and after day 1 no side effects, stomach feels fine, no headache, the only thing was I had a few leaks, and once didn't make it to the bathroom in time but had no pain in my pelvic area or behind! Then my wife and I spent some fun time together and no trouble there either!
    After about a week the Flexeril was doing great, except for having accidents I was feeling pretty good about the new meds. I went back for a follow up appointment and told my doc what the results were. I told him that I can deal with a few accidents if the rest of me works fine and he agreed. He told me if you can manage the incontinence during flare-ups we will run with it. So it's been almost three years and everything is still the same but I am content with it.