Thread: Need support from all of you.

Unhappy Need support from all of you.

My girlfriend's dog just died, and I would like to know how I can help her. Please be serious with your posts. Thank you.

I think first and foremost, you need to be there for her as a shoulder to cry on and as someone to listen to her. I'm not sure what to tell her in that situation though... I'm not good at talking in those kinds of situations.

It's really a read-and-react situation.

If she shows sadness, be ready with a hug. Other than that, grief for pets doesn't usually last long.

I watched them put my dog down, and I wept bitterly as it happened, and wept bitterly when we buried him, but was pretty well fine a couple days later.

Well, obviously, be there for her.

Try to sympathize with her as best as you can.

Maybe you could buy her a stuffed animal, maybe a puppy, and say, "Whenever you miss your dog, give this one a hug and call me." That should show her you will be there for her when she needs to talk. And if she calls you, you absolutely have to make the time to talk to her!

The only basic warning I can think of for a guy in this situation is to remember you're not there to fix anything. Can't fix the dog, can't fix her being sad. Just try to be supportive and listen to what she wants to say. Maybe she wants to talk about the dog. Maybe not. There's no right answer. Just pay attention and try to be understanding without engaging the part of your brain that wants to find solutions. Good luck, and sorry about the dog.

Dealing with the death of anything that you love and are attached too just takes time. The main thing is to be subtle with everything you do since her feelings are very sensitive now. Just don't try making her feel better by buying her a new dog anytime soon.