Thread: cloth diapers

Default cloth diapers

i'm new to the idea of cloth diapers and had a few questions.

do you wear just one diaper or more than one?

are there any that are pre-folded to wear?

how do you pu them ont if you don't have someone to put them on for you?

do you need plastic pants?

do you need safety pins?

Hopefully our resident cloth experts will reply to this thread as well as me... but I'll try to help where I can. There is a great article here that you might want to read too.

More diapers = greater thickeness, probably more absorbency too.

http://www.adultclothdiaper.com
    sells both prefolded and terry towels.

You put it on just like you would a disposable nappy really... fold, wrap, pin.

If you are planning on heavy wetting or messing, use plastic pants - unlike disposable, there's no layer between the absorbent material and your clothes. Plastic pants also help stop the diaper sagging.

Safety pins are needed for a diaper you fold yourself. The prefold ones usually have velcro or poppers.

Hope this helps!

Quote Originally Posted by lilbro309 View Post
    i'm new to the idea of cloth diapers and had a few questions.

do you wear just one diaper or more than one?

are there any that are pre-folded to wear?

how do you pu them ont if you don't have someone to put them on for you?

do you need plastic pants?

do you need safety pins?
    Eeyore's hit the bullet points pretty well.

You can put on as few or as many layers as you like with cloth, especially varieties that do not already have a plastic cover. The more layers you add, the thicker and more absorbent the end product will be. Unlike disposables, more cloth directly means more capacity. The absorption time is more a function of the type of fabric, but it's quick enough that I've never leaked because of flooding.