Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ever feel gyped? Screwed over cause you grew up in the wrong era?

Default Ever feel gyped? Screwed over cause you grew up in the wrong era?

Well, this has been on my mind today as I was digging for some papers in my apartment and I found a lot of old papers from when I was in school, and I'm surprised I even survived it. I was a terrible student, a fish out of water and I sure as hell had no guidance. I just wanted OUT of the school system I was in.

Reading all those papers, notes and things from the teachers has made me think a lot about it and how my life is. And how I didn't do well, or apply myself like I should have instead of being so hooked on my obsessions as a child and teenager. At the time I just hated being in those buildings because of the torment I suffered at the hands of the other students.

With what they know now, I know I probably would have done a lot better. For starters, I found out in '04 I was Asperger's Syndrome, but back then diagnosed with severe ADHD. The meds they had me on didn't help me much and they didn't give me the direction I needed in school.

As I look back, and think of what they know now with Asperger's, I wonder if I would have succeded a bit better; especially in a school system where I felt out of place, alone, and tormented by the students because I was the odd man out. Lately, I've thought about all of the advances and the knowledge we have now that has made me think more about it. Would I have done better now with everything we know?

Maybe, I think so... some of my friends who are teachers say the programs for those with Asperger's are far better than the crapfest I grew up with in the 80s and until I graduated- barely; in '95.