I saw in the news today that Clarence Clemens had a stroke. Though they arenít giving out details, it sounds like a very serious one, perhaps a life ending one. I apologize that this will sound like something which belongs as a blog, but I felt compelled to share this on the bigger platform, someplace it would be seen. Tragedies and death often make us think, see a bigger picture. All too often they bring us back, into our own past, and for this I felt compelled to share.

Those of you who know me, have read my funny asides and my more intimate revelations of a life fully lived. I have mentioned my complicated youth, especially when I was a college student in Princeton. It was a time of self discovery and trying things that went far outside the accepted norms of society. I grew up on the Jersey Shore, and Asbury Park and the Stone Pony was only a 20 minute drive from Toms River, New Jersey. It was a time that made famous, ďDrugs, Sex and Rock and RollĒ, and I was a dynamic part of the scene. I suspect that I was Borderline Personality disordered, and therefore, needed certain people desperately in my life.

I have written only briefly, of two townies who sought me out, adopted me, so to speak, and were intertwined intrinsically into my very heart and soul. The relationship lasted for two years until I graduated, they being 12/13 and me being 20/21. I spoke of the one, my last day at school and telling him I would be leaving, and he, crying in my arms. I miss him to this day. His other, best friend, and my other, was an amazing kid.