Thread: Urologist: what to expect?

Default Urologist: what to expect?

I finally ended up going to the doctor a week ago for my bedwetting issues, but she didn't say anything except that it's not normal, so she referred me to a urologist. This is my first time going to a urologist for anything, so I'm kind of nervous. I don't really mind what they do except that I've heard some tests can actually leave you incontinent for a few hours afterwards, and I've got a huge presentation to give a few hours after the appointment so obviously I don't want to be in diapers for it. Anyways, what tests should I expect for a first time bedwetting visit? Any side effects to look out for? Thanks for your help.

Here is what I wrote in another thread about this,

Your first visit may not be that big of a deal. There should be lots of questions they will ask of you, may have to change eating and drinking habits, may ask you to keep a diary of fluid intake and out take, so for the first visit it shouldn't be that big of a deal. Just be open and honest with every question they ask you so they can help figure out what might be causing your night wetting. This was from the article

Also I haven't heard of any test that the urologist does that causes you to be incontinent for a few hours.

^ I heard somewhere that you can experience mild incontinence after a cystoscopy, although I don't know if that's true.

Your first appointment almost certainly will NOT involve anything as exciting as a cystoscopic exam. If your urologist wants to do a cystoscopic exam it will be scheduled for a later appointment, quite possibly at a hospital clinic.