Thread: College Graduate

Default College Graduate

I have a bachelors in Physics and will have my bachelors in Construction Management in May. I've been applying for jobs since January in Ohio. I applied maybe 18 companies all over the state. My last option is to move out of state due to family. I love them and I couldn't spend more than a month away from them. Any managers out there that can give me tips to tip the scale in my favor?

I was told that whoever is hiring likes to know that you are a human being and that you are capable of making mistakes. I read somewhere that during an interview if you spill coffee on your self or spill anything in that matter that the interviewer will feel a bit sorry for you and can connect with you (the whole thing about being a human being) and have a better chance of landing that job.

People hire other people to solve problems for them that they don't have the time, desire, or specific skill required to handle themselves. The problems may involve physical labor, technical skills, physical skills, social skills, or some combination of them all.

There are three steps to finding a job:

1. Finding an open position or opportunity that you have the skills to fill
    2. Getting yourself in front of the person or persons who can make the decision to hire you.
    3. Convincing that hiring entity that you are the person who can best perform that job with the least pain to them.