Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Everybody remembers their first.

Default Everybody remembers their first.

Get your head out of the gutter. I'm not talking about that.

I'm talking about your first encounter with a video game.

I do remember being 4 and playing an Atari console. I also remember being particularly addicted to a bowling video game that was on it. Once I figured out how to change the settings so I could steer the direction of the ball, I was able to impress my younger sister who did not know how I managed to get strike after strike. There was also Space Invaders, which was a load of fun.

I also remember playing a lot of Q-Bert in the arcades, and I was actually not that bad at it back then.....

Your first encounters with video games? Did it hook you in or turn you away?

I got hooked the moment I started playing the SNES when I was about 3 I think. I remember sitting there playing Donkey Kong Country, and sometimes some Mario All Stars. I started to cry when I couldn't beat a level, I just sat there and kept trying until eventually I got it! Then I got another problem. And so on. Then later on I got the N64, I even remember that it was green! I played Donkey Kong 64 a lot, and my all time fav, Ocarina of Time. I still play it to date.

My first encounter with video games was watching someone play Mortal Kombat 1 on an Arcade in Super K-Mart. It wasn't the fighting that hooked me; it was the fatalities. For the rest of the decade my friends and I played all the MK games just to perform all the characters' fatalities.

Quote Originally Posted by bomb851 View Post
    My first encounter with video games was watching someone play Mortal Kombat 1 on an Arcade in Super K-Mart. It wasn't the fighting that hooked me; it was the fatalities. For the rest of the decade my friends and I played all the MK games just to perform all the characters' fatalities.