Thread: CCW Permit

Default CCW Permit

Alright, so I know there's a heated "Gun Control" debate going on right now, but I thought I'd try to steer away from that for a minute here. This is not a forum to discuss whether or not people should have these permits, but more for the discussion of obtaining one.

Do any of you have a CCW Permit, are in the process of getting one, or plan on getting one eventually? I myself am looking at getting a CCW from the State of Florida as my Military Training counts for the class. What I want to know is if anyone has any good advice for people seeking a CCW as I have never done this before. Thanks!

I did go through the process, but ran into a technical difficulty as where I was applying was in the county where I went to college (and still reside) however until about 6 months ago my driver's license and all legal documents still had me as a resident of my home county. Now that it's all changed to where I live now one of these day's I'll go about re-doing it as in NY State it's on a county by county basis and where I am now it's fairly easy to get, whereas down home in the NYC suburbs it would be more difficult.

Just like applying for any government permit, fill out the application completely, and honestly. Failure to do so is generally considered perjury, and is a felony. When I got my Concealed Handgun Permit in Virginia, it was quite easy for me. I simply filled out the form, made a list of my addresses for the past 5 years, got fingerprinted at the Sheriffs Office and then gave the Clerk of Courts all of that and $20. 4-6 weeks later, I got my permit in the mail.

Butterfly Mage

Due to the nature of my job, I could probably get a concealed carry permit relatively easily. However, I don't trust myself with a firearm. One of the down-sides to having a dissociative disorder is having incidents that involve self-harm. I can fit a cut on my arm with a bandage. I wouldn't be able to fix a bullet hole.