Thread: Applying to school... Again. =/

Default Applying to school... Again. =/

Im sure many of you here are in the process of applying to school, whether it be undergrad, grad, trade school, med school, etc... Would anybody care to vent their stress and anxiety? After procrastinating for way way too long, I'm in the midst of a mad rush to get all of my materials together and send out the first of my apps. Im a 4th year undergrad, trying to get into a PhD program. S**ts scary. All of the stress of applying to undergrad, but without the preparation and assistance from teachers and guidance counsellors and whatnot. It freaks me out thinking about how the next couple months will determine exactly how I spend the next decade and beyond.

Does anybody want to share their experiences? Success or Horror stories? Get some advice? I would be happy to give out some tips if anybody is interested. Consider me a comprehensive guide on what not to do. Heres a few to start off:

-DO visit the schools you'd like to go to. Don't just take the tour, meet with some professors and some admissions people and have a conversation with them. It shows dedication, and the people making the decision will know that you're not some wierdo psychopath.

-DONT procrastinate endlessly (like i'm doing right now), give yourself lots of time to really perfect your essays

-DO make friends with your teachers/professors. Even if you just meet and talk with them a few times about the course material, they will know you better than 90% of the class, and will give you a good rec. if you ask them.