Thread: First-Timer Here

Default First-Timer Here

hey everyone. i'm new to the whole diaper thing, i've always been fascinated to try one on but have never gotten the chance until now. I'm in college and i have a single room and i thought maybe i could finally try this in private. What are some good brands? anyone have any tips?

You aren't likely to get any really good brands without doing mail order. On that scale, the best in the US are generally considered to be (alphabetical order) Abena M4, Bambinos, Dry 24/7, or Molicare Super. I can't tell you which you'd prefer as it's personal, but those are all very good diapers if you're looking for something with tapes and a plastic outer shell. You might wind up preferring the pull-up variety or ones with clothlike covers, or even coth diapers and plastic pants. It gets complicated and there's really no substitute for trying things out.

Of those I mentioned, you might have some luck finding Molicare at a store that was serious about incontinence needs but mostly you will find Depends, which most people don't care for and store brands, which tend to be worse. I happen to think Depends Fitted Maximum Protection are perfectly fine as a low capacity, inexpensive, widely available diaper but as I said opinions vary (a lot).
    Last edited by Trevor; 10-Dec-2010 at 22:37. Reason: Putting "Abena" in place of "Attends"...what was I thinking?