Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Military

Default Military

I was wondering if anyone ever thought about joing the navy or marines. I hope to go to Maryland naval academy and i can get an easy life after military. I have a teach that knows all bout it and he told me,confirmed on offical naval sites, that after i graduate u choose either marines or navy. Then u are a 2nd Lt. in,say my path, marinesand by the time i am 42 yrs old i can be a Major in the marines and retire and make $72,000 a year for nothing. but however i would try to obe at least a Colonel for personal reasons and i also would love to be a General. I will probably retire though at Lt. Col. so i can go on and be a NCIS Special Agent, Field Agent division. Srry for all ranting but i am in a mood of daze and tired.

Butterfly Mage

I had seriously considered joining the Navy when I graduated college. Sadly, they looked at my medical record and basically said "No way in Hell".

Okay, just a few things we need to clear up here. Living as close to Maryland as I do, I think I'd know if Maryland had it's own naval academy. It does not. The United State Naval Academy does happen to be located in Annapolis, MD, though. Yes, it's an important point. It's also extremely hard to get in. If you are a junior in high school, you can forget about it, you're too late. Getting into the academy requires Congressional appointment.
    Secondly, the way a the High-3 retirement system works is you get paid 50% of the average of your highest 3 years of base pay, assuming you stay in for 20 years (it goes up to 75% incrementally for 30 years). Since Majors don't make $144,000/year in base pay, you won't be getting $72,000 for doing nothing.