Thread: To build a kickass gaming box.

Default To build a kickass gaming box.

I have started a savings jar towards my ultimate goal of building a gaming PC that will totally kick ass.

Thing is, I have never done anything like this before. I know how to put a computer together and take one apart, though for this I probably will have a friend come and assist me.

I am making this thread to ask for advice as to what parts I should consider adding to this machine. What kind of motherboard, video card, RAM, hard drive, etc....... And how to shop for such parts.

I'm thinking about making these purchases about six months down the line.

I already have the awesome monitor, though. :-)

Thanks in advance to any words of wisdom here. I have not purchased anything computer related in the last several years, so it would be nice to know about the latest and greatest gaming technology there is out there.

Quote Originally Posted by KaworuVsDrWily View Post
    I have started a savings jar towards my ultimate goal of building a gaming PC that will totally kick ass.

Thing is, I have never done anything like this before. I know how to put a computer together and take one apart, though for this I probably will have a friend come and assist me.

I am making this thread to ask for advice as to what parts I should consider adding to this machine. What kind of motherboard, video card, RAM, hard drive, etc....... And how to shop for such parts.

I'm thinking about making these purchases about six months down the line.

I already have the awesome monitor, though. :-)

Thanks in advance to any words of wisdom here. I have not purchased anything computer related in the last several years, so it would be nice to know about the latest and greatest gaming technology there is out there.