Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: iTunes is shit, alternatives?

Default iTunes is shit, alternatives?

I'm sick of iTunes. It just finished nailing it's own coffin by deciding it was going to delete all the songs and videos off my itouch. So i've had enough.

Any suggestions for free iTunes alternatives?

I'm using a third generation iPod touch.

I use iTunes only because it does video podcasts better than the alternatives, last time I checked.

The main alternatives, though, are Winamp and MediaMonkey.

Butterfly Mage

I have a subscription to eMusic. The fee is $14.99 for 35 tracks, so it works out to be half the price of iTunes. The music is in generic MP3 so they are usable in any audio player (unlike iTunes). You can redownload lost music three times (unlike iTunes).

The main problem with finding alternatives, I suspect, is that very few will support syncing with iPods. Winamp doesn't seem to, for a start.

Clementine claims to be able to copy music to iPods (Classic, Shuffle and Touch/iPhone/iPad), under Windows (requires iTunes to be installed, but it doesn't actually use iTunes - just a library which it installs), Linux or Mac. (Disclaimer: I know one of the guys who created Clementine, but it seems like a good music player, all bias aside... It's based on a fork-and-Qt-port of the "good" version of Linux's Amarok, if you're familiar with that software)

I use floola. It's really awesome and is probably the best tool there is. Doesn't need itunes or anything installed (to be honest i never even had itunes on this computer and never will)

It's got a great community and has plenty of protection to not ruin your library. (save points to revert to and a last ditch resort which rebuilds your library from the files). i mention this because with another itunes alternative i ruined my library and since then have been using floola. I even messed up my library once with floola (disconnecting ipod at the wrong time while it was writing) and it was really easy to fix.