Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Warning regarding FTT RPG game; Please read!

Question Warning regarding FTT RPG game; Please read!

[I would like to suggest this has been a false positive. Please feel free to read the rest of this thread for the sake of your own judgment, but keep in mind that I cannot and do not represent VIPRE. My judgement is out of place and I sincerely apologize for the confusion or concern I may have unnecessary caused.]

Hey all,

I am not a professional, and I recommend you seek a professional's advice in your internet practices. I've already posted this reply to the "FTT is back" thread, but I thought my warning would reach a larger audience if made into a thread.

Anyway, I've never played RPG games before. I decided to satiate my curiosity by checking out FTT's "...game by Baboon called 'Lisa and Friends' Well-Intended Regressive Misunderstandings'..." for fun.

My Anti-Malware software, fortunately, discovered Worm.Win32 embedded in the ZIP files. From my software:

"A Worm is a malicious program that spreads itself without any user intervention. Worms are similar to viruses in that they self-replicate. Unlike viruses, however, worms spread without attaching to or infecting other programs and files. A Worm can spread across computer networks via security holes on vulnerable machines connected to the network. Worms can also spread through email by sending copies of itself to everyone in the user's address book. A Worm may consume a large amount of system resources and cause the machine to become noticeably sluggish and unreliable. Some Worms may be used to compromise infected machines and download additional malicious software...This is a high risk and should be removed immediately as it may compromise your privacy and security, make dangerous changes to your computer's settings without your knowledge and consent, or severely degrade your computer's performance and stability."