Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Someone with some VB knowledge, please help meh!

Default Someone with some VB knowledge, please help meh!

I am new to programming/scripting. I am working on an assignment for class, but am having a problem with a piece of code for one of my exercises. The error I am getting is line 6 character 29. I do not see a problem with this particular character, but then again I'm new to VB. Below is the code, and any help is very appreciated!

Option explicit
    dim userNumber
    userNumber = inputbox("enter a number under 100:")
    if userNumber > 100 then
    wscript.echo "you entered " & userNumber _
    & " which is " & userNumber 100 & " above the allowed value."
    end if

I havent seen vb code in a while...ummm my only guess is all the &'s...

R134A

I believe it's the &'s too. I've never seen the &'s in any code before. Although I could be wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by Powderhair View Post
    I am new to programming/scripting. I am working on an assignment for class, but am having a problem with a piece of code for one of my exercises. The error I am getting is line 6 character 29. I do not see a problem with this particular character, but then again I'm new to VB. Below is the code, and any help is very appreciated!

Option explicit
    dim userNumber
    if userNumber > 100 then
    & " which is " & userNumber – 100 & " above the allowed value."
    end if
    I haven't used Visual Basic much, but I noticed that the 29th character in the line is the minus sign. My best guess is that you need parenthesis around the math operation like this: (userNumber - 100).

The & shouldn't be a problem, at least according to this site: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...xw(VS.80).aspx

Hope this helps...good luck on your assignment!