Thread: cycling clothes

Default cycling clothes

Hey there folks. I'm looking for a recommendation on cycling clothes. Since I know a bunch of people here are into cycling, I thought ADISC was as good a place as any to ask.

Here's the scoop: I'm kind of new to cycling, and so far I've just been wearing regular clothes, like T-shirts and basketball shorts. But I'm finding that the wind rips right through my shirt and in no time at all, my stomach's ice cold and I'm cramping up, and that's about it for my biking trip. I figure I need something that's windproof but still breathable, if that's even possible. I've done some searching around, and so far I've heard that bib shorts are a good idea, since they provide extra coverage, and that a form fitting windbreaker would also do well.

But since sports clothes can be kind of pricey, and since you can't exactly return something after you've sweated up a storm in it, I'd like to get as many opinions as possible before I go shopping. What's the best outfit to keep the wind off my chest without suffocating me in the summer heat?

Seriously, a good set of bib shorts is the way to go. On top, any lightweight, moisture wicking and UV resistant shirt will work. You can do without the windbreaker until much later in the year. But a good pair of cycling specific shorts is important. The chamois pad makes sitting in the saddle a much more pleasant experience, and the lycra shorts keep everything nice and compact. It's not just to keep them from flapping in the breeze, but also to compress your thighs. Don't ask me why it helps, but it does. Bibs can be a little pricey, but you should at least get a pair of shorts. They do work wonders.

These are the shorts that I wear, and I absolutely love them:
    Performance Ultra II Bib Short - Mens Cycling Clothing