Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: College Major?

Default College Major?

Well I will be taking my placement exams for university tomorrow and I am worried about the math portion of it, since I am pretty darn dumb when it comes to math. I am now starting to worry that I may fail college before it even starts, i know the placement exams wont determine that, but they will show me where I will stand as of the fall semester, but I digress...

I have Always been very interested in business, I have run a few small operations myself and interned and what not. but, the fact that I am horrible at math has me worried...am I setting myself up for failure if I want to pursue a degree in business if I cannot handle the math portion of it? Should I burn that major and pick another one, something I am good at like history?

Basically what I am asking is that since I am not good at math, would I be setting myself up for failure if I were to purse a degree in business?

I can tell you this dt. All through high school I was terrible in math. I was a musician and math was not a part of my life. But as you go through life, things change. At one point, about 15 years ago, I thought about becoming an accountant. I took a number of classes in that field. I got a B in the first accounting class, and then an A in the next. I got an A in business math, (an easy class) and A's in all the other classes. Eight years ago I took a pre-calculus class and got an A in that as well. I simply was a late bloomer, and had some growing up to do.

If you go into business, especially your own business, you definitely need accounting classes, not only to do your books, but to understand how money is consumed while running a business. As smart as you are, you can do it. Go take your tests and don't worry. Your college will accept you. Once in college, work your tail off. That's what I did the second time around.

Quote Originally Posted by dogboy View Post