**Start Attempted Unbiased Part**
www.njleg.state.nj.us/2008/Bills/PL09/37_.PDF - Official Law Document
http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/downloads/..._Palm_Card.pdf - Outline of Law
http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/downloads/...1_GDL_Laws.pdf - FAQs
N.J. officials reveal Kyleigh's Law license plate decals for young drivers | - NJ.com - News article, for some background
So this is the first I've heard of this law so far. As it says on New Jersey's website this is the first of its kind and it comes into effect on May 1st.
The general idea behind this law, at least the way I have read it is, anyone that is under the age of 21 and does not have their GDL, is required to buy red, reflective decals from the NJDMV. These decals are to be placed on the upper left hand corner of both front and back license plates, so as to help police officers identify young drivers. These decals will help the police in enforcing the restrictions placed on younger drivers, who still posses a Provisional License or permit. In accordance with this law, any moving violation will result in a 5 month suspension of license, instead of a prior 3 month suspension, as well as all young drivers forfeit their right to a plea bargain on any moving violation charges.
So basically I would like to see how everyone feels about this law, even if you do not reside in the state of New Jersey.
**End attempted unbiased part**
I personally am against this law. I have yet to update my license from my provisional to a GDL because it has never truly been an issue for me. I will be updating it before May 1st now. But this seems like an attempt to legalize profiling. It is singling out teenage drivers, and making them targets of police discrimination. I also disagree with charging $4 for these stickers. While it is not a large some of money, the law states that the driver will not be charged more than it cost to produce and distribute the stickers. I find it hard to believe that two little stickers could possibly cost $4 to produce. It is entirely possible I am wrong about the cost but even so, I would think that If the state wants to make it easier for police to fine/ticket teenagers, then the device that is allowing them to do so should be provided free of charge from the state.
These stickers also bring up several other issues that I can see being a problem. First of all the state is forcing young drivers to announce to everyone, including sex offenders, that you are under 21 and alone, as if you have a parent or guardian it is not required to have the stickers displayed, whether or not the parent/guardian is driving. It also opens you up to being an easy target of insurance scams, specifically staged accidents. The red decal is just like a invitation, saying you are a new, inexperienced driver. So when you are in an accident it makes it easier for the judicial system to believe the teenager was the cause of the accident.
If they want to start labeling cars/driver so that police can identify them, they need to do it on a much wider scale then just focusing on new drivers. First of all, just being a new driver doesn't make you a bad driver. So they should force all new drivers to have the sticker. The can make it easier for new drivers to be required to have a sticker, but not required from the start. If they want to label cars, then sex offenders should have to label their cars, so cops know if they see their car next to a school. There should be a sticker for senior citizens, and drivers that have ever had an accident. As well as stickers for people that have ever had a speeding ticket, so cops know to watch them. And stickers for people that have had parking tickets, so cops can scrutinize their parking habits.
One thing I have yet to see is, Are the police allowed to pull a driver over under the suspicion that he/she is under 21 and on a provisional license?
So how does everyone else feel about this law?