Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Life Dilemma

Default Life Dilemma

Not really looking for specific advice, just need to tell someone....

Here's my situation:

- I'm in my 4th year of college, but will need at least one more semester before I can get a degree.
    - I went to an expensive state college for 2 years and then moved back home and took 2 years at a technical institute.
    - I'm bisexual, a furry, and a DL - my parents know about none of these.
    - I have literally no idea what I want to do with my life
    - I've changed majors from Chemistry, to English Ed., to Psychology, to computer programming.
    - I'm nearly 23 years old and still live at home.
    - I work part-time (~15 hours/week) at a gas station and make less than $600/month.
    - I live in the midwestern US, where unemployment is insane.
    - I have pretty much no marketable job skills.

At this point, I'm really just living to continue living. I feel as though I have no real purpose or drive. My life is completely boring and stagnant, and it's driving me insane. I am nearly failing 2 of my courses (out of 3) and I can't bring myself to even care enough to get a tutor.

Do you like what you are studying? (be honest w/ yourself)

I know you said you were not looking for advice but sometimes hearing another opinion can really help clear you're mind. First of all lemme just congratulate you for making it so far without cracking or breaking down, it is really rough trying to "jump" start getting a new life a career ect moving out of parents house. I think however you need to just sit down and clear your head try to visualize what you want to do with yourself...even if you lack the motivation to think about it, you could write a list of pros and cons of different majors. In my psychological opinion you should approach this matter with gentle care and be delicate with it, try to focus on a tiny section of your life rather then focusing on the big huge picture.