Thread: A five year mission...

Default A five year mission...

I look back on what I have done in the past five years, and I feel like Capt. James T. Kirk on the completion of his first five-year mission in space. I feel like I have completed my own mission.

It was five years ago this month I started my job, which I still hold down.

It was five years ago I decided the past was the past, and that it was time to move on from the dark days of what I call the year of hell aka 2004, and work on bettering myself as a person with autism.

I also found out that I WAS autistic at that time. That was obstacle number one. Obstacle number two was finding a job, a job I can work and be proud of. A job I have held for five years despite being constantly offered jobs I know would have me end up having a breakdown.

A week from today, I will be nuclear-bombed drunk in celebration of that anniversary and the fact that I set out doing something I have never done before, hold a job for five years, and find out who I can trust when the red light's blinking, and the chips are down. I know who I can turn to when things are down.

I feel like I have achieved a lot, and I feel like there are other things yet to achieve in life. I feel better about who I am, as an AB, and as a person in general.

As I said earlier, I feel like Capt. James T. Kirk returning from the five-year mission of the USS Enterprise and I feel like there's a whole world out there to explore.

Congratulations, you sound like you have certainly had some hard times, and i wish you well. Congratulations for getting through it all.

Hell yeah man! Congratulations!

Don't party too hard though, ok?

Fantastic. A testament to the power of the human mind.

Drink sensibly. A carton of beer should do it. (In case other countries don't buy in cartons.. a carton is 24 beers)