Thread: Medical Supply Store Questions

Default Medical Supply Store Questions

Well first off, I have been buying store brand diapers for a few years now and i would really like to try a better diaper, but ordering online is not an option. So... I just had a few questions about medical supply stores:

1. Are there any specific medical supply store chains on the East Coast, or are they all privately owned?

2. How does it work: do you ask an employee for a product, do you go just pick it up and go to a register, or do you have to place an order?

3. How is customer service; is it like a CVS store or is it more proffessional?

well, I am not aware of any nation chains of medical supply stores, at least, not in my area. I have not really dealt with medical supply stores, but I imagine that they would be like any other store, with product out on the floor. Though some may be different in that aspect. Any business should, theoretically, be professional. I suppose to level I would expect a medical supply store to be slightly more so. A medical supply store deals exclusively with medical supplies, so someone buying diapers wouldn't be so surprising to them as it might be to come college kid working as a cashier at Wal-Mart or something.

Most are small companys just a few stores in larger towns and citys, I'm sure if you ask for a certian diaper they may carry it or can get it for you.

The ones I have been in just have sample merchandise around the store crutches wheel chairs etc, the main stuff such as diapers may be in the back if the store is large enough, and if they don't have it at one of the small stores they usually have a wherehouse in the area.

The ones I have been in are run by professionals knowledgeable of the prouducts they sell not high school kids with an after school job.

The biggest here in Northeast Pa is Wasserotts, they may have a store near you.