Thread: Veterans, Active or Reserve service members sound off!

Default Veterans, Active or Reserve service members sound off!

Just would like to get an idea on who is or has served in the Military and what branch and how your experiance was.
    For me I served four years in the US Navy as a Machinist Mate 3rd class. MM3. Onboard the USS LaSalle homeported in Gaeta Italy. Veteran of Operation Iraqi Freedom in support of the Sixth Fleet flagship. I though my time was meh. I was an engineer so I spent most of my days in the P2 engine room. If I wasn't on watch I was helping to fix things that were breaking down all the damn time. During the war we had multiple equipment casualties resulting in us having to constantly repair just to keep us underway. I went two and a half weeks rotating on watch, equipment maintenance, eating, showering, sleeping (rarely). I would not do it again in the future.
    Enough about my crap, how about everyone else????????????/

Currently National Guard as a combat medic. Might get deployed this summer. So far 1.5 years in.

USMC, back in the mid 80's, so before anything really public happened. I signed-up after the barracks in Lebanon were bombed, out of patriotism, and to test myself (If I could become a Marine, then I knew I could've graduated from any of the other Service's Boot Camps. Not trying to brag, is just the way I thought). I spent my time Stateside, in Training, before two injuries took me out, and I had to accept a Medical Discharge.
    I loved about 95% of my time in the Service. Sure, there was a lot of shyte going-on, but after the way I grew up, being yelled at and the physical demands were more about how much 'I' wanted to achieve and learn, than anything else.
    If I could've Healed, I would've made a career out of being in the military. I enjoy the discipline, and even the chow! heh heh heh

My only word of advice/recommendation to anyone considering this Path is-