Thread: Howdy!

Default Howdy!

Hi folks,

I'm not sure exactly where I should start. I live in California and am in the process of finding a new career. I am/was in the jewelry business, but it's not exactly hopping right now due to the economy. Plus I'm looking for something that engages me a little more intellectually. I like the outdoors, hiking, camping and snowboarding when I can afford it. I also do distance running, although I've been a bit lazy about it lately.

As far as my interests relevant to this site, I'm mostly DL but have a bit of AB as well. I got a pair of footie pajamas from Target for this winter that are just fantastic. I mostly just wear because it feels nice, but it can be pretty convenient for long road trips...

I'm new to the online forum thing, so I hope I don't make any silly mistakes...

Welcome to the site

Looks like you're doing okay so far with regard to avoiding silly mistakes. Just keep reading around, get a good feel for the culture and pitch with your two cents when it seems like you should. As to the work stuff, I know someone else who's working in jewelry and he's cut his hours back considerably, so you're not alone there. Hope you can find something that makes better use of your talents.

Welcome to ADISC! Do you have any hobbies or interests? Hope ya enjoy it here and our supportive community. Peace and Love

Hi tk7432!

Well, I read a lot. I'm usually reading 2 or 3 books at any given time. I like to read one non-fiction and one fiction if I can. But at the moment, I'm reading 3 non-fiction. Oh well... A book about spiders, one about how computers will exceed human intelligence in the next few decades, and a book of DIY projects using common household materials, with an emphasis on re-use and re-purposing. It's a book written by Readymade, they also have a magazine of similar projects.