Thread: Greetings from...

Default Greetings from...

...snowy, well-below-freezing Michigan! Don't mind me; I'll just be hiding in my blanket until spring comes.

On a less random point, I'm a newbie to the site...which is probably obvious. I'm hoping that I won't make any major missteps around here, since I've been lurking a bit up until now. It's a normal thing for me - trying to figure out how the community works so I don't offend anyone/embarrass myself in my first post. But in this case, I was also trying to decide if I should introduce myself, because I wasn't really sure if (or how) I might fit in. I stumbled across the site by chance while trying to find out more about the topic, primarily due to a growing interest in certain aspects, and hearing the term used in a few places. It seemed like the best way to learn more about it. For me, though, all the labels seemed to only half-fit.

For example, I don't really feel an interest in regression, but I do want to let my inner child out to play on occasion, while keeping the positives of thinking the way I do now. I don't want to put my adult mind away, in other words, but I want to be lighthearted and even childlike, without the current restrictions I put on myself. (Granted, there are times where I wish I could make my mind shut up, but that's another thing altogether.) Diapers don't particularly push my buttons, but I find them cute in drawings, to the point where I'd really like to try wearing some. Over the last year or so, I've been nudged into doing things that I don't think I would have tried otherwise - using a bottle and pacifier being an example. And yet I don't really see doing it as being a big deal. If anything, it's not public because I don't want to try and explain it to the people I live with; in every other way, it feels natural to me. But then, as a kid I used to walk around (in the house) while sucking on a spoon or chewing on a plastic straw, without really noticing that I was doing it.