Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello, everyone!

Default Hello, everyone!

I'm a university student in the physical sciences/maths, and I like computers and coding pretty well, too. I'm really interested in optics and lasers, nuclear science, fractal geometry, and cosmology. Computational and experimental methods are where I tend to fall. I'm getting more into electrical engineering too, so who knows... maybe I'll get some more training in that someday as well.

I commute and go most anywhere else by bicycle. The hills around here make cycling pretty strenuous, not to mention the weather... this is not the sunny south! But rain or shine, winter or summer, I'll be lugging knapsacks full of books and fresh veggies home on the bike. I have dreams of modding my bike into an xtracycle, but as a starving student, I'll need to sock away a bit more cash before that happens. I also have plans to someday string a bunch of LED's and switches on gloves: wearable turn-signals! (since one of the most irritating things about biking is that it's hard to hand-signal in the dark).

Reading is a great love of mine, and although I'd list a set of favorite genres, I'm not sure I can do so well. Currently, I'm making my way through the Golden Compass trilogy, and I'm a particular fan of Mercedes Lackey, Juliet Marillier, Robin McKinley, and Isabel Allende. I like Stephen King when he's being not too terrifying; Eyes of the Dragon is my favorite of his works. I also love poetry, particularly Pablo Neruda, Alfred Tennyson, Sir Walter Scott, Juana Inez de la Cruz, and Alfred Noyes. Silly romantic stuff like that of Jane Austen, as well as more modern (and considerably less chaste!) authors, is my guilty pleasure.

Just recently, I got into both tabletop RPG's and older console RPG's (think Zelda, FF7, Chrono Trigger...). It's been loads of fun and I'm looking forward to branching out more, particularly with tabletop.