Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Donating Blood

Default Donating Blood

Well I'm going to donate blood in a few hours. I've never done it before and am a bit freaked out. What do they do to get the blood? How long does it take? Should I eat before I go?

Darkfinn

They're going to slit your wrist and just let you bleed out into a bucket.

Quote Originally Posted by Darkfinn View Post
    They're going to slit your wrist and just let you bleed out into a bucket.
    I thought they just lopped the arm off at the elbow! "It's ok, you'll only feel a slight stick" *slash*

Look, it's not that bad. They will use a heavy gauge needle attached to a bag. They insert the needle into your arm at the joint. it takes about 10-15 minutes depending on your blood pressure. You don't need to eat before hand, but I recommend drinking plenty of water. Before they let you leave, you'll have to hang out for 10 minutes, and they give you juice and cookies to get your blood sugar back up.

Mesmerale

Quote Originally Posted by dcviper View Post
    Look, it's not that bad. They will use a heavy gauge needle attached to a bag. They insert the needle into your arm at the joint. it takes about 10-15 minutes depending on your blood pressure. You don't need to eat before hand, but I recommend drinking plenty of water. Before they let you leave, you'll have to hang out for 10 minutes, and they give you juice and cookies to get your blood sugar back up.
    Don't lie. :tongue:

I hate when people call it a needle.

Look, it's a tube, okay? It's a metal tube with a sharp edge.

Besides that...

If it's busy, you'll end up spending more time waiting than actually having blood taken.

I suggest you bring something to play music with, because it can get kind of boring.

I agree about drinking water. You should be hydrated before you do it. If you're afraid of doing it, don't eat anything.