View Poll Results: What type of cream do use to advoid rashes?

26. You may not vote on this poll
  • Baby Powerder / Oil

16 61.54%
  • Desitin

6 23.08%
  • Baby Oil

3 11.54%
  • Nothing

8 30.77%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What stuff do you use to advoid diaper rashes and chaffing

Smile What stuff do you use to advoid diaper rashes and chaffing

Okay, my problem is that I have tried baby power, baby oil, Walgreen's generic body locution and even Desitin. What product would be the best to avoid a rash and itching. I wear depends fitted Briefs and Walgreen's cloth back about a few times a week but I'll wear for days straight and then go back into regular boxers.

Desitin or A+D ointment do the trick for me. I powder all the time, but overnight or extended wearing I'll hit the cream too. Never had a problem.

What products will help all depends on what's going on...I'm no pro, but here is my opinion:

If chaffing is happening, then something needs to either prevent the cause of the chaffing or limit the effects. So, talc will help absorb moisture (inc. sweat) which is a cause of chaffing, whilst baby oil or oily cream such as 'Bepanthen' (which I use) will lubricate the chaffing action, stopping it from causing friction damage and pain.

If it's skin irritation from sweat, pee etc that's causing a rash, again it's a case of preventing the cause and/or treating the symptoms. Barrier cream, such as 'Zinc and Castor Oil' will help form a layer between the skin and the pee, so reducing irritation. I think Sudocrem is similar, but I've never tried it.

If the skin is having an irritated or allergic-type reaction, antihistamine cream helps calm the irritation, cool the skin and cease the itching. Some nappy creams also contain vitamin D or something which helps the skin repair itself.

If the rash is infected, weeping etc, then some antiseptic cream might be a good idea. Some nappy creams also contain antiseptic.