Cloth diapers and PUL pants

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cyclist

Contributor
Role
  1. Incontinent
Hi guys

I have a question regarding cloth diapers. I would like to know is there anything I can put on the diaper to mask the urine smell. I only use them in bed as I find they are just too bulky to use during the day. I do suffer from frequent bowel problems as well and I understand there is not a lot I can do about that. I don’t want to put anything on them that will affect the absorbency.

Also is there anything I can put in the box where I keep the wet used ones that stops it from stinking to high heaven?

Regards a long suffering IC

I find that baby powder helps with the odor, but it depends on how strong that odor is. In the morning I go to the shower with diaper on and put it on the shower floor, squeezing it out about 3 time during shower. This makes it much easier to store until laundry time. I bag it and store it until then.

Mine stink too :(. I have a 30 degree, 15 minute wash on my washing machine and put them straight into that without detergent every morning and then they air out before a proper wash when there are a few to wash.

I realise this is a bit extravagant but it avoids trying to rinse them out by hand.

If you keep your wet and/or soiled ones in a covered pail you can rinse them with water a couple times after they are used. You can also try a deodorizing cake (moth balls). That usually keeps the odor down. Wash then frequently.

make sure you are drinking enough water, and yes sometimes bleaching is needed. to clean the bacteria up and out.