Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tobacco

Default tobacco

I'm wondering, does tobacco show up on a high school drug test? All I hear on the net is that they don't test for it because it is a legal drug, but what about minors? Like some students are 18 but not the majority.

With a a certainty of 99.99 percent: No. Granted, I'm not an expert on US high school drug testing, but looking for tobacco would seem pretty... well, retarded.

Ha my thoughts exactly but I get scared. I am screwed if my parents catch me

I doubt it would show up on the drug tests they'd be using. Like most of us (I assume), I don't have any direct knowledge on how the tests are designed or what chemicals they're designed to detect. Like RadGravity, my hunch is that these tests aren't going to detect tobacco. You're more likely to get discovered by smells in your clothes, breath, or hair, or by other physical evidence (the tobacco itself). My understanding of nicotine is that the effects on your body are chemically similar to those of caffeine, or that they operate on a similar group of neurotransmitters.

My ultimate recommendation is to ditch the smokes, or the chew, or whatever. Save yourself the money--laws or not, you're doing yourself a disservice.

Quote Originally Posted by PostTenebrasLux View Post
    My ultimate recommendation is to ditch the smokes, or the chew, or whatever. Save yourself the money--laws or not, you're doing yourself a disservice.
    Agreed. I wish I never started smoking. That's easy to say now that I'm 22 though. When I was 16 it was another thing. So, I'm not gonna lecture you, Jason. Just give not smoking some thought. Especially since your parents apparently wouldn't be too happy with finding out about it.