Private browsing is now available in Firefox 3.1 beta!
To toggle it on or off, simply go into the Tools menu and select Private Browsing. Or press Ctrl+Shift+P to toggle.
Note that nothing apart from downloads or bookmarks will be remembered - this includes tabs! Switching it on will save your tabs, switching it off will restore your session to the point when you switched it on.
Have fun! ;-)