Thread: Hello

Default Hello

Hello friends, so this is a first for me. I've been a long time lurker on a lot of these websites - mainly because of confusion surrounding the issues I've been working though. Firstly the sense that I am abnormal and therefore unacceptable, and secondly the idea that I would grow out of this and that I would leave it behind me.

I work in the UK in the charity sector and meet lots of people (who all think they are normal) but they are all different - so have can they be all normal!
    A part of my prensence here is to do with my on going battle for the right to be not normal - and the idea that 'normality' is a complete nonsence that we all like to pretend excists to make us feel a little more comfortable about uncertainty.

So, I have nocturnal enuresis (I hope I spelt that right becuase I am also dyslexic - why do they make that such a hard world to spell). I havn't always been this way - I was toilet trained night and day at 4 - but then I started having seizures in my late teens. I got dianosed with epilepsy and given meds that have made me sleep incredibly deeply at night. So bed wetting started shortly after. I had used nappies but mainly used an absorbant under pad thing for a long time - but it was still a pain to clear stuff up. Recently I spoke with a really helpful adviser at age uk incontinence and they really recommended adult nappies. This has really helped me feel better about the whole thing rather than fighting against it - so here I am - back in nappies at night (as well as the odd long trip during the day etc...). I have mixed feelings about it - but mainly I like sleeping well and waking up dry (ish). I hate the level of stigma that exisits around nappies - and I make a point of calling them what they are.