Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Being looked over for a promotion

Default Being looked over for a promotion

Hey guys,

Just posting this up here for a bit of a vent, rant and hopefully some advice.

Anyway I have been working in a job in retail for the last 20 months, it was a job with a new company so I thought their would be good opportunity to progress, while also being in retail would mean I could give enough time to my studies.

So I have just finished college and pending my final results I should have a BA in Business studies under my belt.

SO since I have started working their I have been looked over for promotion 3 times. And the person who got the jobs over me happens to be the same person.

So the first time was just after I started and I had finished being a temp one of the women who started with me, lets call her Ms X got kept on and was given a full time position while I was given a part time position even though I had done a better job than her, I had hit my KPI's and had much better sales figures.

Then about a month later she was made a marketing executive whilst I didnt even get a look in. I have a bit of experience in marketing and have a diploma in it while she was doing a diploma in digital marketing and had no experience.

It's actually a good thing I did not get that one though because it imploded on her within six months and she was back on the shop floor.

The latest one just happened. All the store managers left last month so the company was scrambling to hire some. Both myself and Ms X went for the position. Again I didn't get it while she did.