View RSS Feed

Transmissions From Within A Cloud Of Absinthe

How (Not) To Kill Your Coworkers

Rate this Entry
I'm a cook. Not a Chef, those people go to school and have degrees and little letters next to their names. I'm a cook and proud of it. Cooking is one of my true passions. Crafting the dishes, plating them, making it all perfect, it's what I do. Even at home something as simple as ramen become a special moment, proper spice, the right water temp... everything matters no matter how mundane.

Therein lies the problem. I care about the food, not you. How it looks, how it tastes, even how it sounds as it goes out to a table. Not for the customers sake, but for my own sense of satisfaction with what I've done. I don't cook for you, I cook for me. My coworkers? they cook for the paycheck at the end of the week. Quality? They don't give a fuck. Using the right plates or bowls? They don't even bother to find out what the right way is. How do they still have jobs? God only knows.

Unfortunately my job performance is directly dependent upon these useless lumps of flesh. If my prep-cook fucks around and doesn't get his shit done, it becomes my responsibility. If my backup cook is more interested in what happens on her phone than what happens on the line, I just have to man up and get things taken care of. Its a lot of stress piled up in an already stressful workplace.

Now, I usually can keep things in check, but today, no such luck. After a few too many things piled up in the middle of dinner rush, I went Gordon Ramsey on one of my coworkers. She ended up in tears behind the restaurant for a good 20 minutes. Don't feel sorry for her. If she had done her job properly nothing would have happened.