View RSS Feed

Transmissions From Within A Cloud Of Absinthe

Am I looking for something, or running from something.

Rate this Entry
Don't get me wrong, I like where I'm at in life, stable income, nice house, mentally sound roomies, and this bodybuilding kick I've been on for the last four months has shown some impressive results. Sometimes though... sometimes I feel like I should be doing something more, something, else. I work at a job I like, but at times, especially late at night(or rather, early in the morning) I feel like it's not the right job. I love this town, nice small, close to nature, but it doesn't always feel like, well, me. If that makes any sense. I was a ski instructor some years back, and even with all the baggage and nasty habits that were filling my life, I felt like I was in the right place, doing the right thing. Not in a 'helping make the world a better place' kind of way, but in a right for me sort of a way. The last time I had that same 'This is where you need to be RIGHT NOW' feeling was on a backpacking trip. I was about 900 feet from the summit of Kings Peak, and my entire self, mind body and soul, just stopped. I don't know how long I just stood there, but it was one of the most spiritual moments in my life. which is saying something since I'm not really all that spiritual or religious. It's disconcerting at times. I walk most every where, and just tonight, on my way home, I had this profound feeling of otherness. Like I was supposed to be somewhere else doing, something. It's all very vague. I used to think it was wanderlust, but that doesn't really fit, when I take off on adventures, I don't want to go back home. I want to keep going, cross another border, climb the next peak, forever, just keep going and never look back. Like I'm looking for something, but I don't know what it is. Even now, sitting in this chair, I just want to sell or burn everything I own, grab my ruck, and take off for terra del fuego. Why there? I don't know, bu