View RSS Feed

ryizan

Relationship Advice

Rate this Entry
Why do my friends always come to me for relationship advice? I do not understand it.

I have no experience with relationships. None. I've never had a relationship. I've never gone on a date. I've never asked anyone out on a date. I've never been asked. I've never been kissed. Nothing. Exactly 0.00% experience.

And yet, anytime there's a rough breakup, or someone is thinking about a breakup, they come to me. I'd be fine if it was "hey, come and have a drink with me while I talk at you until I work through this." But no. It isn't. It is, "Hey, I need your advice. Should I get back together with her?"

I don't even know the whole story, how am I supposed to know?

And even if I did know, what if I'm wrong? What if I say get back with her and you're miserable? What if I say move on and she could have been the most perfect girl for you? Why are you putting the decision onto my shoulders? What if I am wrong? What if I ruin your life because you decided to ask the guy who has no idea what he is talking about?

If I can't even get a date what makes you think I'm qualified to tell you who you should be dating?

Updated 21-Feb-2014 at 11:40 by ryizan

Categories
Personal

Comments

Sometimes the most powerful thing a person can say is "I don't know."

I've sat through so many social events where someone would come to me and ask... just trying to make light conversation, what my views on X, Y, or Z were. I remember a dinner party at my church a couple of weeks ago when I got roped into a talk of overseas politics... Gosh if I didn't try my best to keep up... but truly, I'm just not that smart - and I found myself wondering all of a sudden: What the heck am I doing? I could talk to someone for hours about history or literature, but the topic at hand was so far out of my league that it was in orbit.