View RSS Feed

First I guess

Rate this Entry
Well here's to my first blog.

It has truly been a while, and not for lack of trying, different things have shifted in my life, almost all at once since last October, and it is taking a hell of a lot longer to get back to a semi-average pattern. I know I haven't posted or commented on anything for the longest time either, and for that I can honestly apologize, I know I forgive myself for it because of the shift in the way my life is laid out.

You see, around the end of September last year, I graduated from college, and that was something I was, and still am, very proud of myself for. Yet I could not celebrate for long, and I have in essence held off on such, because a few days later me and my mother had to go up north, to where most of the family was gathering, to see my grandmother one last time while she was still able to remember us. A month later she passed away...

Now I did go to the funeral, and it wasn't too hard to come to grips with what happened, but what I received when I arrived back up north after that month of, in essence, waiting for her to pass, that ripped into my core. My grandmother had gotten my aunt to write a letter for me, and she(my grandmother) signed it herself, albeit messily, as the tumors in her brain and body were already in full effect. She had Melanoma, a very aggressive and lethal skin cancer.