View RSS Feed

kerry

1 AM musings

Rate this Entry
1 AM is so peaceful.

I just got off of an hour-long conference call with Moo and some other staff members, starting to learn about this new position I've signed on for. I knew I needed to volunteer to do it as soon as Moo threatened to close the Stories Forum, and it is (choose your sports metaphor) an easy layup after a full court breakaway / a fat pitch straight down the middle of the plate / an empty net right in front of me with the puck on my stick / a back-door tap-in goal after a perfect pass / a walk-in touchdown after a perfect pass... In other words, it's something I should be able to do well because it's what I do.

I'm a writer. I'm a teacher of writing. So...moderating a writing forum? I should be able to do that, right?

I think I might just be out of my mind.

Sure, no prob: I'll just add more stuff to my overcrowded plate. :-) What the hell did you just do??? my mind cries out in protest. A thousand times I've told you: take things away; no one ever said add new things. My mind thinks it's pretty smart, and maybe it is, but that doesn't mean I actually listen to it. Nope: like most people, I do most of my best work with my brain conveniently turned off. It's my default position. And apparently it was in that position that I came to the conclusion that a purple name was worth tons of extra work. :-)

(Who am I kidding? OF COURSE it is! Purple has always been my favorite color!)

So it's after 1 AM, and I am enjoying the silence. But I have to go to sleep soon, and then I have to wake up. And then it will not be silent any longer. I'll have my purple name and a ton of stories to read and think about. And my cats. And my kids. And my school work. And the book I'm writing. And...

(Is this how stress begins?)

:-)

Kerry
Categories
Uncategorized

Comments

Congrats on your new job and wish you all the success in the stories section.